Church Council


Council guides and directs affairs of the congregation as it seeks to fulfill its role and mission as a part of the body of Jesus Christ.

It consists of the Moderator, Vice Moderator, Clerk, Treasurer, Historian, three members of the congregation elected at large, and representatives of the five boards. The pastor and staff are non-voting members .

It meets monthly after the other boards meet, and anyone may attend and be heard but not vote.

  Church Council
Moderator                                       Margie Haught
Vice Moderator                              Julie O’Neil
Secretary                                          Karen Berry
Treasurer                                         Doug Smith
Historian                                         Clara Nichols
Council at Large                             Tom Hamilton
Council at Large                             Barry Deane
Council at Large                             Georgia Naughton
Board of Ministries                       Marcia Backos
Board of Ministries                       Cathy Powers
Board of Ministries                       Ginny Mathews
Board of Missions                         Kris Brubeck
Board of Missions                         Meghan Province
Board of Missions                         Keri Lilly
Board of Education                        Julie Sanders
Board of Education                        Erin Provins
Board of Education                       Wendy Anspach
Board of Properties                       Casey O’Neil
Board of Properties                       Walt Butler
Board of Properties                       Warren Laurita

Worship Services

9:00 a.m.   Contemporary
11:00 a.m. Sunday School
11:00 a.m. Traditional

First Church Congregational
22 Liberty St
Painesville, OH 44077
(440) 357-7518